3X Ironman Champion Blazes a New Path
ZWIFT COMMUNITY

3X Ironman Champion Blazes a New Path

ON November 4, 2016 by Kate Veronneau

Zwift Academy is a community of fun-loving, competitive women from all corners of the globe. They are moms, daughters, doctors, lawyers, caretakers, entrepreneurs, bosses, and more, who remarkably balance training with all of life’s responsibilities.

Each week, we’ll tell one rider’s story to uncover a little bit more of the motivations and personalities behind this inspiring group of women.

Jessie Donavan’s massive engine is only out-shined by her fierce determination. With 3 Ironman Championships and 3 children on her resume, she was searching for her next challenge. That’s when she heard about Zwift Academy. She made the Semi-Finals and is charging ahead. Here’s her story…

0159_01465-resized

Why did you join Zwift Academy?

I have been racing as a professional triathlete for the past 4 years with a few bike races sprinkled in for training. Cycling has always been a strength for me and I always wondered, “What if I just focused on cycling?”

Zwift Academy provided the perfect opportunity at just the right time for me. I had been recovering from getting hit by a truck while biking, and then a running injury popped up and my husband showed me the announcement about ZA.

The opportunity to compete with women around the world for a professional cycling contract from the comfort of my own basement and training roads, I’M IN!! I signed up the first day it opened.

ironmansafrica

How has the training impacted your life so far?

I have always spent a lot of time on the trainer but my triathlon training was a lot of steady state training staring at my heart rate and power. The ZA workouts have really been fun and so much more dynamic.

I love the group rides and races offered on Zwift and completing the structured sessions has pushed me out of my comfort zone more than once. Those extended over/unders are still haunting me!